Overhead Door of Kansas City Reviews

Learn more about the Overhead Door Company of Kansas City. The Greater Kansas City area's leader in garage door repair and installation.

One of the large 48″ Torsion springs on the garage door snapped (on a Sunday of course)! Being a “do-it-yourselfer”, I researched on-line, Youtube, etc. and was convinced I could do this job myself. I checked all the home centers, which it turns out, don’t sell torsion springs due to the HUGE variety of sizes. After searching on-line, I found these uncommon sized springs at a midwestern company that could ship them by Wednesday. Nearly $200 for both springs (better to replace them as a pair) and the twist bar tools, plus 2-day shipping (Wednesday PM arrival.) I figured $200 and my Wednesday night spent working on the door. But, I hesitated, not clicking the “Buy button.” On Monday morning, I called Overhead Door in Olathe and asked to them to quote two 48 inch springs, which being unique, had to be cut special. The springs were only $189, or springs plus installed that day for $289. No Brainer! Frank guided me, Mike took care of the logistics and Ted did an outstanding installation of both springs in less than 30 minutes! It would have taken me 3 hours! And I admit, it is more difficult than it looks! Thank you Overhead door!read more

Steven Stringfellow

Steven Stringfellow

2017-11-15T03:11:34+0000

I am very disappointed with Overhead Doors. We requested a 12 point check up for our garage doors and received a clean report. The next day, while Don was explaining what was checked out, I noticed the Garage door and the garage door opener were pulled away from the garage wall about 1 1/2 inches. I phoned the company and confirmed this should have Ben addressed in the inspection. I’ve emailed them pictures as well. I was told a manager would get back with me. It’s been a month and all I’m hearing are crickets. And they wonder why I hired someone else to repair our garage doors. They didn’t catch the door and opener pulling away from the wall during an inspection and couldn’t be bothered to reply to emails with pictures. Pictures available. Thanks Kit Carson Lk Winnebago MOread more

Kit Carson

Kit Carson

2017-10-15T13:43:32+0000

I made the mistake of hiring a rookie, made the call and Overhead was here that day to secure my house shortly after and finished the following day!! Excellent service! Gabe was very professional and knowledgeable!read more

Keesha Kocyon

Keesha Kocyon

2017-08-25T20:24:00+0000

I live in a house built in 1926 with a detached garage. Needless to say, I was frantic when the garage door fell apart. Overhead Door not only replaced the door, they had to create a new frame because the opening was not square ( of course!) The service was prompt and my door looks fantastic!read more

Kathy Pierron Chartrand

Kathy Pierron Chartrand

2017-08-16T14:36:17+0000

Wow! Austin and Joeseph did an amazing job with out garage doors! Couldn’t have asked for a better job and nicer people. They did it quick and efficiently so I’m very happyread more

Jordan Gracy

Jordan Gracy

2017-08-12T13:18:26+0000

After eleven years I had to replace my genie garage door remote. I could not figure how to program the new remote I purchased. I called The Overhead Door Company and they sent someone out immediately to take care of me. Fast, friendly service. The Tech, Seth H. kindly and patiently explained everything to me and showed me how to do it myself for the next time along with other pointers regarding my garage door. Thank you Seth and Overhead Door.read more

Cynthia Harper

Cynthia Harper

2017-08-11T20:29:47+0000

Thank you Overhead Door Company! The serviceman was quick, efficient, on time & awesome to work with & scheduling was next day & easy! My garage door has been fixed & runs so wonderfully now! �read more

Alexis Nunn

Alexis Nunn

2017-08-04T21:15:44+0000

Excellent service and wonderful customer service. Our problems were handled quickly and efficiently. Highly Recommend.read more

Ernie Collyer

Ernie Collyer

2017-06-15T17:13:23+0000

I have been a customer for over 10 years and without a doubt, this Company lives up to their advertisement. Customer service, on time for appointments, and quality work. I will remain a customer.read more

Dee Smith

Dee Smith

2017-06-14T22:39:34+0000

We have used Overhead Door Company many times over decades of home ownership. The replacement door we had them install a few years ago has been a great upgrade to our home. Service has always been prompt and efficient.read more

Gary Richards

Gary Richards

2017-06-14T15:54:10+0000

We love our new doors – they looked wonderful and have changed the entire facade of our home. You can’t go wrong with Overhead Door!!!read more

Patricia Boudet

Patricia Boudet

2017-06-14T15:25:37+0000

These doors are very quite. I really like that feature. They are solid and tight.

Gary Wayne Brown

Gary Wayne Brown

2017-06-14T13:38:19+0000

I’ve been a customer of Overhead Door for over 20 years. They have always been prompt, courteous and knowledgeable. Whether I needed a small adjustment or needed, most recently, a new opener, everything has been a smooth transaction. One of the things I like most, is that I can call in the evening, tell them my problem and they come out and take care of it without my needing to be home! They go out of their way to make this the most convenient service around! Thank you Overhead Door!read more

Cathie Chesen

Cathie Chesen

2017-05-31T16:37:42+0000

Great service! Randy Strickland was polite and professional. We received an appointment right away and the price was very reasonable! Thank you!read more

Vickie Collins

Vickie Collins

2017-05-30T19:14:25+0000

I can’t say enough good things about Overhead Door. You can normally expect high prices and poor customer service from large companies in the service business, but not from this company. Customer Service A+, Quality A+ and pricing A+.read more

Charlie Shockley

Charlie Shockley

2017-05-02T15:28:21+0000

They called to see if they could come a little early which was fine. Serviced our issues promptly and told how how to get a part we needed elsewhere.read more

Kay Wessel

Kay Wessel

2017-04-13T17:14:56+0000

Excellent product, especially with MyQ, so we don’t have to stop a few blocks away from home to go back and see if the garage door is shut. Good people with excellent service. We highly recommend them.read more

John Schell

John Schell

2017-04-13T14:24:07+0000

It was May last year when the one guy showed up and watching him was like magic, I mean he was so fast yet so professional. He did a fantastic job and now I have the doors I have wanted since moving into the house. I did have a few up grades and it was well worth it.read more

Duane Lewis

Duane Lewis

2017-04-13T07:04:21+0000

Outstanding service. We discovered the spring was broken on one of our garage doors and the door would not open even manually. I called at 2:10 and was told someone could be out between then and 6:00. He called at 3:00 to say he would arrive in 30 minutes. He arrived right at 3:30 and had the new springs installed by 4:15. You can’t ask for quicker service than that.read more

Dave Machens

Dave Machens

2017-04-12T21:19:33+0000

Overhead door has repaired a door, replace a grade door, installed a storm door and put in a grade door opener for us. They have always been on time and done a superior job, clean up any messes that they made. Thank you for having such a super staff. Need a storm door, door repaired or garage door the only people I’ll ever call. THANKS A MILLIONread more

Lannie Ornburn

Lannie Ornburn

2017-04-12T13:44:43+0000

Have used Overhead Door for repair and regular maintence for years. That should speak for itself.

Gene Jacobs

Gene Jacobs

2017-04-12T13:13:52+0000

Made an appointment last night at 5:00 and Overhead Door was here by 9:30 this morning to fix an issue with my garage door not wanting to close. I was totally prepared to hear “You need a new opener”. Instead the service technician made some adjustments, showed me what he did and how to fix myself if it happens again in the future, and only charged me the service trip fee! Will definitely be using them when it does come time to replace or need repairs I can’t do myself now!!read more

Joe Cook

Joe Cook

2017-04-04T14:44:53+0000

You guys must like having happy customers! Friendly, courteous employees. Prompt arrival. Fixed my door opener under warranty…and replaced my wireless keypad too. Re-programmed everything including the opener in my car. Thank you!read more

Beth Schmitt

Beth Schmitt

2017-03-31T14:16:28+0000

Have too give props to Brad B today! We were hit by the tornado in Smithville last night and had damage to our garage door. He was at our house first thing this morning and got right to work. He got the door functioning well enough to use while we wait for a new door, boarded up the blown out door windows, and even swept up broken glass. And he smiled the whole time! Helped make a rough day go a little better. I will definitely use Overhead Door again! Thank you for such great service!!read more

Jamie Tota

Jamie Tota

2017-03-07T21:54:32+0000

We just had a garage door and opener installed, they did a great job. We are very pleased with the outcome.read more

Roxanne Biller

Roxanne Biller

2017-02-26T03:03:03+0000

Excellent company and technician. They helped me out with a problem that was caused by another company. The technician, Kirk, explained many things to me that will help me in the future. The professionalism and expertise, as well as prompt service, will cause me to use them again.read more

Ellen Cohn Taylor

Ellen Cohn Taylor

2016-12-29T02:24:50+0000

Recently we needed a garage door repair due to minor issue. So I called Overhead Door KC, they recommended their $89.95 tune up special. I fully expected after they finished to receive a bill for $250 + but to my surprise and delight I was given a bill for EXACTLY the amount quoted which never happens! The service person, John was experienced and so nice too. I will definitely call again next year for winter tune up. Thank you, I am so grateful!!!read more

Kathleen O'Malley-Boldt

Kathleen O’Malley-Boldt

2016-12-17T15:18:45+0000

Thank you Overhead Door of kansas city for the wonderful new garage door. Installer was awesome.

Dianne Shaunty

Dianne Shaunty

2016-12-16T19:29:51+0000

We had a spring pop during the week this week. I called on Thursday and it was scheduled already this morning. Tobin was here in a timely manner and got right to work. He did an awesome job!read more

Brian Millz

Brian Millz

2016-11-12T16:07:43+0000

I was able to obtain same day service to fix broken cables on my door. The technician was polite, professional and very helpful and promptly fixed my door, provided routine service and gave me good advice and tips for maintenance. I highly recommend.read more

Pam Sewell

Pam Sewell

2015-10-07T00:51:57+0000

We put up with our garage door bouncing back up after trying to shut it for years. We finally called and they fixed it quickly and efficiently. I cannot believe we waited so long, it was so reasonable in price to have this fixed. We were worried it would be expensive. I totally recommend Overhead Door.read more

Val Dixon

Val Dixon

2015-09-20T14:30:03+0000

My former employer used them. Yes price is higher than I would like but after three trips (three different items) for my personal door, money well spent. Pros: knowledge staff from start to finish, followed up, promp service, professional staff, didn’t oversell me and actually undersold me. When I have to break the piggy bank to replace the door, I’m trusting them over “Joe the door guy” or Lowe’s.read more

Marc Fugett

Marc Fugett

2013-07-18T05:43:05+0000

Doug Russell
Doug Russell

17:33 06 Oct 17
Yesterday, was my first experience with overhead door. I was 10 minutes away and heading over to my Dad’s house when he said the garage door guy was coming over. As I pulled up, the Overhead Door guy was explaining to my Dad, who was recently diagnosed with Lou Gehrig’s disease, why he needed to re-program the door remote on the exterior wall (the whole system and parts were originally purchased and installed by Overhead Door). He continued to say that “unfortunately”, he needed to charge him for a “service call”. Later, I found out from my step mom that they were charged $90 for the five minutes it took this crook to re-program the remote. I can only hope to get these ‘overhead door’ clowns as my customers some day. I will be certain to do sub par work for them with inferior parts and charge them for subsequent “service calls”. What goes around comes around. Thank you for contacting my father and resolving the issue. It was very nice of you all to apologize and refund his charge.read more

Mindy Schneider
Mindy Schneider

10:22 17 Aug 17
When my spring snapped and trapped me in my garage I called at 8:00 AM and they were at my house the same day! He was super fast and friendly when he arrived and I was out of my garage in no time! Highly recommend!read more

Jon Jaspan
Jon Jaspan

20:22 29 Jun 17
Mr Dan Landt came out and fixed my garage door promptly. He educated me. I couldn’t be more pleased with the service. Because of Dan, I will now recommend Overhead Door Company to my neighbors and friends.read more

Chris Rumney
Chris Rumney

11:05 22 May 17
Our garage door spring broke on a Sunday morning. I called Overhead Door having heard the testimonials and ads on the radio.I was quoted a time of between 2:30 and 5:00 the same day. Dan Shirley from Overhead Door called at 1:30 and said he’d be there in a half hour. So a major plus for getting to our home ahead of schedule. When he arrived, he immediately diagnosed some possible gear trouble on our garage door an gave a quick quote as to how much to fix it. He wasn’t called out for this purpose, but he recognized that our garage door system was older and out of concern wanted to be sure there wasn’t any additional damage. He gave me the option to have it fixed, but I declined. He didn’t push back, but let me know what it would cost to update the system in the event other parts began to break.Aside from this, he didn’t give us any hard sell for items that he was not there to fix. I showed him the issue of a broken spring, preventing the door from opening and closing. He gave me the price for replacement of one spring or both. I chose to have both replaced. Within 45 mins. Dan was completely finished and headed down the road. He was very professional and friendly. I would definitely recommend Overhead Door for anyone garage needs.read more

Pauline Nelson
Pauline Nelson

17:28 12 Apr 17
This was the customer service I’ve come to expect from Overhead Door. I lost the programming on one of my remotes. Called OHD and the manager advised that it was probably fixable simply by reprogramming the remote to the overhead unit. He emailed me the reprogramming instructions and voila! it worked. Appreciated not having to pay for a service call … that’s the best kind of customer service. It will keep me coming back!read more

Charles W.
Charles W.

2017-11-13 13:55:08
I had a great experience with them. We had two springs break at the same time. Because of tight space from a remodel the springs are not easy to reach….read more

Thomas M.
Thomas M.

2017-08-19 10:03:33
Love my new garage door and opener. Would have given 5 stars but unfortunately, one of the special order front panels that was delivered at the time of my…read more

John T.
John T.

2017-07-19 11:26:38
Called for an appointment, they got me in the next day, arrived exactly when scheduled. Work took roughy 30 minutes, no attempt to upsell me at all,…read more

Stephanie S.
Stephanie S.

2017-07-01 07:28:58
UPDATE TO MY ORIGINAL REVIEW BELOW::::As you can see, Brad Allen immediately reached out via Yelp to try to rectify the situation. After a few days of…read more

Brian A.
Brian A.

2017-05-09 08:55:21
Excellent service. Had installations plus spring replaced over the years. Very thorough, explained everything plus gave me maintenance tips. Kacy the…read more

M. O.
M. O.

2017-03-07 20:17:05
Situation: broken garage door spring and cable.Called and spoke to a live, local human after just a couple rings. I explained the issue, and she promised…read more

David L.
David L.

2016-04-30 06:56:17
Couldn’t be happier with the service. We needed two cables replaced, as well as an overall tune up on our two doors. Easy website to request service. They…read more